Cooking on a Dime

Creating delicious meals in South Jersey on a budget just got easier with these simple how-to's of the kitchen.

Chicken Piccata Recipe March 24, 2012

If you couldn’t tell by now, I really like the allrecipes.com Dinner Spinner! It makes finding recipes and cooking so easy!

I went to Acme to do some grocery shopping and found buy one, get one free chicken breasts at $6.99. So I looked up chicken recipes on the Dinner Spinner and found Chicken Piccata.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 (4-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4 cup white wine or chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

Directions:

  1. In a large resealable plastic bag, combine the flour, salt, and pepper. Flatten chicken to 1/2-inch thickness; place in bag, one piece at a time, and shake to coat.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, brown chicken in butter. Stir in whine or broth. Bring to  boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 12-15 minutes or until chicken juices run clear. Drizzle with lemon juice.

I also bought a bag of steam vegetables for $3.99 which brings the meal to a total of only $11.00!

 

3 Responses to “Chicken Piccata Recipe”

  1. Russ Says:

    Really good post! I am completely unable to make anything so this post did help a lot even though id be scared to try it alone! One thing id like to know is how you made the steam vegetables? I assume a microwave but once again I have no idea.

    • alderm03 Says:

      Wow, I completely forgot to mention that in my post so, thank you! There are two ways to make the vegetables either by using the microwave or in a pot of boiling water. I cooked them in boiling water because I was a little short on time and microwaving them actually took more time.

      Honestly, I was scared to jump right into it as well but I’m really happy I did. I’m having so much fun trying out new recipes and there’s really no better way to learn than to just dive into it.


Leave a Reply

