Cooking on a Dime

Creating delicious meals in South Jersey on a budget just got easier with these simple how-to's of the kitchen.

The Dinner Spinner March 10, 2012

In my quest to find the next amazing dish to create for my family, I searched the internet for recipes that my family and I have never tried. I found an extremely interesting recipe called Beef Taco Bake on Cooks Illustrated. The recipe called for an enormous amount of fresh ingredients that would definitely break the bank to my budget friendly blog.

 

Courtesy of my friend Taylor, I found this awesome app for my I-pod Touch! It’s called allrecipes.com Dinner Spinner. Taylor wanted to look up the recipe and that’s when she showed me this awesome app! It had the same dish but less ingredients and way cheaper to make, which would stay on the topic of making delicious budget friendly meals!

 

The Dinner Spinner allows you to pick the dish you want to make by:

Dish Type:

  • Main Dish
  • Salad
  • Side Dish
  • Soup
  • Appetizer
  • Bread
  • Breakfast
  • Cookies
  • Dessert
  • Beverage

Ingredients:

  • Pasta
  • Pork
  • Shellfish
  • Vegetables
  • Beef
  • Cheese
  • Chicken
  • Chocolate
  • Fish
  • Fruit
  • Grain
  • Lamb
  • Legume

Ready In:

  • 45 minutes or less
  • Slow Cooker
  • Over and hour
  • 20 minutes or less
  • Any

You can also just let the Dinner Spinner do the work for you and present you with a surprising new dish!

I have found this app to be fantastic. While I have only actually made two recipes from here, including the Beef Taco Bake, they have both turned out great! Many of the recipes are submitted by homecooks and have tons a reviews that offer suggestions on how to make the recipe better or any other ideas other homecooks might have.

 

One lazy Sunday morning, I decided to test this app out by making myself breakfast. I found a recipe for Chunky Monkey Pancakes and I was instantly intrigued. They turned out fantastic and I love the idea of making food from scratch when the budget and time allows for it.

 

Stay tuned to see how the Beef Taco Bake turned out!

 

One Response to “The Dinner Spinner”

  1. Mary Jo Says:

    I really would like to see the recipe for the pancakes too!


Leave a Reply

