Cooking on a Dime

Creating delicious meals in South Jersey on a budget just got easier with these simple how-to's of the kitchen.

Chicken Tortellini Toss Recipe February 18, 2012

Chicken Tortellini Toss
 

Courtesy of bhg.com

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 9 ounces refrigerated cheese tortellini
  • 4 cups broccoli and/or cauliflower florets
  • 1  14 1/2 ounce can diced tomatoes with Italian herbs
  • 1/2 10 ounce jar dried tomato pesto (1/2 cup)
  • 1  9 ounce frozen roasted or grilled chicken breast strips, thawed
  • Shaved Parmesan (optional)
 
Directions:
 
In 4-quart Dutch oven, cook tortellini according to package directions, adding the broccoli the last 3 minutes of cooking. Drain. Return to Dutch oven. Stir in undrained tomatoes, tomato pesto, and chicken. Cook, stirring occasionally, just until heated through. Garnish with Parmesan cheese. Makes 4 servings.
 
 
I must admit, while I found this recipe under the Quick and Easy tab on Better Homes and Gardens, I had a hard time with this recipe. My first problem: I had no idea what a dutch oven was. Come to find out it’s usually a cast iron cooking pot with a tight-fitting lid that can be placed inside an oven. But hey, I’m learning!
 
 
I went shopping at the Acme the night before since the ingredients had to be fully thawed to cook quickly. Now I was hoping that the shopping trip would be quick and easy too but I was so wrong. It took me about 45 minutes just to find tomato pesto! (It was by the produce) The rest of the ingredients were easy to find but I did take a while in deciding which packages to get since they were all different sizes and prices.
 
 
I decided to get two 11 ounce packages of cheese tortellini at $3.99 each since there wasn’t a 9 ounce package.
I bought a 12 ounce package of grilled chicken breast strips on sale for $5.99.
Again, I bought the Acme brand 14 1/2 ounce can of diced tomatoes with Italian herbs on sale for $1.00.
The 8 1/2 ounce jar of tomato pesto was $4.99.
The recipe didn’t specify if I should have bought fresh or frozen broccoli but I bought a 12 ounce package of Acme brand frozen broccoli florets for $2.99.
 
Grand total: $22.95.
 
 
When I got home from school around 5 pm, I began cooking dinner since my sister was starving. I found the biggest pot in my kitchen and filled it with water. I let the water come to a boil while I started to get the rest of the ingredients ready. When the water had come to a boil, I poured in both packages of tortellini. Now this is where I got a little frustrated. I forgot to turn the burner down as I added the broccoli after the tortellini but I was taste-testing the tortellini and broccoli to make sure it was cooking properly.
 
 
When the tortellini and broccoli were done cooking, I drained the water. The pot was so heavy I was surprised I was able to drain it by myself! I returned the pot to the stove and I added the chicken, diced tomatoes, and tomato pesto to the pot. I swirled that around a little and then added the tortellini and broccoli to the pot from the strainer.
 
 
It took awhile for the chicken to completely heat up so I covered the pot on the stove and let that sit while stirring occasionally. The  meal didn’t stay hot for long though; if we wanted seconds, we had to use the microwave to heat it up again. Other than that, my family definitely enjoyed this meal. I can’t remember the last time we even had tortellini and I have no idea why! It’s delicious!
 

My finished product!

 
 I think my picture looks really close to the recipe’s picture!
 

One Response to “Chicken Tortellini Toss Recipe”

  1. meemilah Says:

    This sounds delicious! I like refrigerated tortellini a lot! I have frozen chicken breasts so I might thaw some out, cook them up and use them in this recipe!


Leave a Reply

